Life is rough.

Good God, so I have to take two make up shelf exams.

I mean, yea, it’s in pretty universal agreement that life is rough … yet I feel like I don’t see the end of it in this career field. And why am I doing it again? Hehe, beats me, I’m just that masochistic. What can I say, I like to be slaughtered and beaten to the ground with grades, just be shattered, put me to my lowest and come to the understanding that wow, life is just that unpredictable …. even on tests … especially in medical school.

Last night I had a little reminder of how awesome it is to have some close friends around you to survive through all the bull sh*t in life. My close friend throughout medical school K and I decided to make a small excursion from our daily lives of constant studying/pretending to be doctors and go on a trip for some ice cream. It gave us an opportunity to catch up on our lives, just be mindless, talk about things other than medical school. Haha, ironically the moment I laid down on her couch in her house, it was extremely challenging to get myself off of it and go home. Sigh … home just reminded me how much I had to study and I wasn’t ready to go back to that. It was fun to just be mindless for about two hours before returning to reality.

Sigh, I just don’t understand it. Is there something really wrong with how I study? My methods seem to not be the best yet I feel like I’m working my ass off every time. The annoying part is that no one really ever teaches students in medical school to study. You just gotta kinda find your method … and sometimes I feel like I have, sometimes I feel like I haven’t. It still goes in trial and error and worst part is that when you err, well, your grades suffer and there’s a whole lot of hoop jumping you have to go through again … actually make those hoops blazing with fire.

When will you do you ever know that you’re doing something right?

You know, I really think you don’t …. you just give it your all and hope for the best. Just don’t expect anything out of it and if you think you might know what went wrong, try to fix it. But don’t set yourself up with expectations, just do your best.

I guess that’s all I can say … and it seems life works that way too. I just wish this didn’t risk me a grade or a possible redo of a rotation.

Voo Doo Fest is starting today. If I’m lucky enough, I’ll be able to hear Eminem tonight from across the street. 😀

One thought on “Life is rough.

  1. Kristina says:

    This book was recommended to us as first years and I have to say it gets a lot of things right. It really helps! And it’s never too late to discover your study style…For example, I am highly visual, so I have found I need to draw/sketch diagrams, flow charts, etc to actively learn (reading for me is just passive…flows right out mah brain.).

    Definitely check it out, it may really help you (especially since testing never ends…)!!!

    Study Without Stress: Mastering Medical Sciences

Leave a Reply

