He’s just not that into you.

So here I am in the student lounge on this dreary day, basically resting … maybe prep up for Step 2 before I go onto my next clinic session. I’m currently on my ambulatory medicine rotation which is known for how laid back it is. You don’t have a set of patients you’re required to see and most medical students try to push this rotation off till fourth year … if they get a lucky lottery pick in selecting their rotations, that is. I wasn’t so lucky but even when I had the opportunity to get out of it, I selected to stay as I wanted to get my hands into some heme/onc research before I started applying for residency programs. I kind of am enjoying the lack of need to worry for any upcoming shelf exams as the ambulatory exam is an open book one. Prior to Christmas, I had to endure the insanity of taking 3 of them in the span of 6 weeks. Let’s hope all went well and I don’t have to further make up for anything.

Spoiler alert!! If you haven’t seen “He’s Just Not That into You” and plan on doing so in the future, might as well stop reading here.

After spending a good five hours at the student clinic last night, I came home and popped in my Netflix movie “He’s Just Not That into You” while gobbling down some dinner. It’s an interesting film, yeah definitely chick flick but kind of your unexpecting type. I felt I could see myself as some of the female characters who were in the movie. Back in college, I definitely didn’t hold back my tendencies to express my feelings to guys regardless of how they felt … because I analyzed like crazy and somehow conjured up a conclusion that he was doing it because he liked me. After all that heartache and emotional exhaustion, it’s kind of more difficult to put myself out there for someone …. unless I feel he’s definitely worth my time. Let’s just say I’m too old to let my feelings get hurt so easily now.

Not to say I’ve given up on the possibility of someone loving me and only me. I still want to believe in that but maybe I’ve learned to look at guys just in a different light than previously. I can’t say I know guys any better than I did before … I’ve just become more patient about things I suppose with hopefully a keener eye? Hehe …. or to be at least a bit more careful of getting too excited about things. And an interesting line they seemed to be mentioning throughout the movie, just because two people are married doesn’t necessarily mean they have all the happiness in the world and just because two people aren’t married doesn’t mean that two people can’t be happy.

By far, I think the character Jennifer Aniston played reflected largely upon myself. She was a woman who wanted to get married to a man she’d been with for 7 years but was not the type to desperately go seeking for someone else or just date randomly even after she broke up with him briefly (because the guy couldn’t agree to marry her …. yet he still couldn’t imagine himself being with anyone else). She didn’t feel bad attending her sister’s wedding by herself, dateless, walking down the aisle with a dog instead of a man (interesting switch now I think of it), and her father tells her, “You were never afraid to do things differently from others. That’s why you’re my favorite daughter.” Eventually, Jennifer Aniston sees her boyfriend for the great man he really is compared to her sister’s husbands and tells him that she just wants to be with him, that that in itself was enough, that she doesn’t want to force him to marry her. And what do you know? In a few days, he proposes. =D

In the end, don’t lose sight of what the important things in life are.

One thought on “He’s just not that into you.

  1. Now THAT’S what I’m talkin’ ’bout!!

Leave a Reply

